Hurricane cooking…

Hurricane Irene’s impact is due to arrive in Rhode Island late tonight, with strong winds, heavy rain, and possible storm surges all day tomorrow.  I live near the water–but up a hill–so my response is to start cooking. I’ve already made bread dough and pizza dough using Jim Lahey’s no-knead recipes. Cookies are next, and I plan to throw a pork shoulder into the crock pot before bed tonight (for instructions on how to do this, see my earlier post, Pork Tacos). By tomorrow, unless the power goes out, the pork should be beautifully cooked. If all goes well, I’ll post pictures of the finished products a little later.

Thanks for your comment!

