Crunchy granola

Eight years living in Seattle definitely rubbed off on me: I can’t live without my morning soy latte; I reuse plastic baggies, rinsing them out and hanging them to dry; I am addicted to yoga; and I love homemade granola.

Most of the commercial granolas I’ve tried are too sweet for my taste, ridiculously expensive, and, usually, stale. It’s so easy to whip up this crunchy homemade version with kitchen staples–and it tastes delicious! I like it with plain yogurt. I’m lactose intolerant, so I buy Redwood Hill Farm goat-milk yogurt, which is fantastic and available at Whole Foods market. You can substitute any nut you like–I’ve made it with peanuts and walnuts–and dried cherries in place of raisins is heavenly. I shouldn’t have to mention this, but pure maple syrup (I prefer Grade B, which has a strong maple flavor) is the only acceptable choice.

Maple Granola
Adapted from Martha Stewart Living, February 2010

3 cups rolled oats
1 cup dried unsweetened coconut chips
1 cup raw almonds, chopped
1/2 cup extra-virgin olive oil
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
1/2 cup packed light-brown sugar
1 tbsp. sesame seeds
1 tsp. coarse salt
½ tsp. cinnamon
1/2 cup raisins

Preheat oven to 325°. Mix together oats, coconut, nuts, oil, syrup, sugar (use the same ½ cup measuring cup starting with the oil and the maple syrup won’t stick), sesame seeds, salt, and cinnamon. Spread granola in an even layer on a rimmed baking sheet covered with parchment paper. Bake, stirring every 10 minutes, for 30 minutes or more. Let cool completely, add raisins, and store in an airtight container. Makes 7 cups.

5 thoughts on “Crunchy granola

  1. Yumma-rumma! Not only that but if you can manage to wade through the stretch waistbands, reversible belts, Mexican toothpaste and the smell of smoke you can purchase Bob’s Red Mill products @ Ocean State Job Lot @ a fraction of the cost in supermarkets or Whole Foods!

Thanks for your comment!

